ས་ག་ཟླ་བ། Saka Dawa (also known as Saga Dawa)

(May 20-June 18)

It is a month of observing the birth, enlightenment, and death (parinirvana) of Lord Buddha. It is said any good deed that you perform during this month is considered multiplied.

Saka Dawa (also known as Saga Dawa) (ས་ག་ཟླ་བ།) represents the holiest and most sacred days in Tibetan Buddhism. Falling on the fourth month of the #Tibetan Calendar, the religious festivities of Saka Dawa peak on the 15th Lunar Day when there is a full moon.

This day is associated with three major events in the life of Shakyamuni Buddha – his birth, his enlightenment on a full moon night, and his parinirvana. In Tibetan, Dawa means “month” while Saka means the “name of the closet star to the earth” during the lunar month which is prominently visible. In Tibetan astrological calculations, Saka is one of the 28 known major stars.

Saka Dawa – A Meritorious Month

Saka Dawa is regarded as a great time to earn merits and attain spirituality, purification, and enlightenment by Tibetans. This meritorious month carries a special aspect whereby any good deeds performed during the month are rewarded with one hundred million times greater good karma.

The meritorious worthy acts include:

  • Pilgrimages to sacred Tibetan places such as mountains, lakes and caves, notable monasteries, and temples.
  • Performing koras in a clockwise direction around a shrine or other holy places. Pilgrims pray, prostrate themselves, and chant mantras such as the “Om Mani Padme HumBuddha Shakyamuni” mantra or White or Green Tara mantras.
  • Giving donations to monasteries, monks and nuns.
  • Giving charity to the poor.
  • Eradicating the dark forces by lighting butter lamps.
  • Refraining from eating meat.
  • Setting animals free into their habitat.


During Saka Dawa, Tibetans observe eight major precepts on holy days such as the full moon and new moon days of the month. Since the full moon is the holiest of days, the devotees engage in observing these actions with much fervor.

  1. Avoid killing and taking life
  2. Shunning from acts of stealing
  3. Avoiding sexual contact
  4. Staying away from lying and deceiving others
  5. Not taking alcohol, tobacco and recreation drugs
  6. Eating one meal a day before noon which should not include onions, garlic, radishes, meat or eggs.
  7. Not sleeping on a high-raised bed or sitting on chair with pride
  8. Not participating in singing and dancing, nor wearing jewelry and other adornments, such as makeup or perfume.

Among the several schools of Tibetan Buddhism, a range of rituals and ceremonies are performed during Saka Dawa.

In the sutra, it says:

“The merit obtained from
Offering to the Buddha in his presence and
And the merit from offering
To the image of the one who transcended beyond,
Are similar if they are done with an unstained mind.”

As it is clear from the Buddha’s own words, to offer to the images or representations of the Buddha has the same merit as offering to the Buddha himself in person. On special occasions like Saka Dawa, the merits generated through prayers and practices are considered to be very strong.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed